… and Ishiqiya wins! 🙂

We did back to back movies this weekend…10 am Ishiqiya and 3 pm MNIK, with a leisurely lunch and a leisurely walk down MG road thrown in between (Oh btw.. B’lore does have a summer season!, and yessir, it is QUITE hot)

But before the reviews, rants and raves… just a quick ‘aside’ to mention H’s idiosyn’crazies’.  One more topics of our weekly weekly fights 😀

H has a tendency to take his time with all the things that he can take his time with…. so much.. that he sometimes behaves like the Ishaan Awasthi ( fro Taare Zaameen Pe.. remember?).   He has the capability of slipping into his “drift mode” without notice. We will be completely rushed while going someplace… and I will be frantically locking doors and checking lights and fans… and what does the dear ‘ol guy do…. he takes that five minute to check Facebook… and if I get irritated or we get late… ofcourse it was all my fault… cause he was all dressed and ready to go… and “I” got everyone late… which is irksome… coz its always “I” who is locking/checking/switching off/closing/searching for things..! OBVIOUSLY 😀

And then… if I ever… ever tell him to take care of things, while I take my time getting dressed up….and if we get late… then obviously again… I am at fault. The man drifts around, and refuses to multitask… or to pace up or pace down depending on the situation…. and I get the blame. Ishaan Avasthi… not a doubt… and to add to that the guy has mastered the art of guilt tripping me! ( Help! peepal…!) And so as the story goes.. I lose my temper… we fight…. we make up… and the cycle repeats each time we go out anywhere.

And then… to add to my misery… H also expects me to ‘dress up’… Now I’m a regular jeans -Tshirt -sneakers sorts. No matching the earrings to the fancy girlie tops types. I would like to dress up in my own time… but who does it with all so much responsiblities of the locks and the switches hanging on their heads… And I think it is time to get H to understand.

….so sneaky me has thought of a plan. I am hencforth going to start getting dressed before he does, comment on how he dresses after we leave the house and he can do nothing about it, get him to take responsibility of the locks and the like… and just behave like a pretty “I’m so confused and helpless” bimbo for some days.. and watch the fun…

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned… I say!

…and that incidently is also ze topic of the movie Ishiqiya…. and which incidently.. is why… I ze loves it!

Ishiqiya is a fresh movie,  its stylized, and raunchy, and yet honest. The best thing about it is that it is not over the top, in how it portrays emotions, it is not cliched  and has enough interesting episodes to keep you glued.  And though I’ve heard lots about how it ends… I actually liked that it ended the way it did (No plot spoiler here!) I recommend!

As for MNIK. Its typical KJo fare. The things that make you laugh.. the things that make you cry…. infact… I have a sneaky suspicions that this is a formula that he has evolved… If you make the audience laugh and cry enough times… they love you. (Sadism!). The plot was not great shakes…. but do watch it for SRK. This is one of the few movies where the man has actually acted.  Kajol looks like a million bucks! What is it about married women who have kids… they just get prettier and prettier!

Now… both are watchable, though maybe not twice! But if I had to choose between the two… I would definitely recommend Ishiqiya.

Its a pity that its being taken off most of the theatres here in Bangalore, Do watch it while you can!

